Workshop meeting in Rimini

Some notes from the Meeting on 24 September 2002 at the ENBIS Conference, Rimini, Italy.

1. Present

Martina Vandebroek (Universiteit Leuven, Belgium) martina.vandebrock@econ.kuleuven.ac.be
Ron Bates (University of Warwick, UK) R.A.Bates@warwick.ac.uk
Daniele Romano (Dipartimento di Meccanica, Universitàdi Cagliari) romano@dimeca.unica.it
Soren Bisgaard (University of Amsterdam, NL & University of Massachussetts, USA) bisgaard@som.umass.edu
Gernot Schubert (Hilti AG, Liechtenstein) schubge@hilti.com
John Tyssedal (Department of Mathematical Sciences, The Norwegian University of Science and Technology, 7491 Trondheim, Norway)
Ivan Vuchkov (University of Chemical Technology and Metallurgy) vuchkov@automation.uctm.edu
Rossella Berni (Department of Statistics, University of Florence) berni@ds.unifi.it
Zorica A.Veljkovic (Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, Belgrade University) zoricave@ptt.yu
Martin Arvidsson (Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden) mararv@mot.chalmers.se
B Rogers (Ricardo Engineering) bjrogers@ricardo.com
Marion J Chatfield (Statistical Sciences, GlaxoSmithKline, UK) Marion_J_Chatfield@gsk.com
Grazia Vicario (Politecnico of Turin, Italy) vicario@polito.it
Corinna Auer (University of Dortmund, Germany) auer@statistik.uni-dortmund.de
Martina Erdbrügge (University of Dortmund, Germany) erdbrugge@statistik.uni-dortmund.de
Ekkehard Glimm (AICOS Technologies AG, CH-4057 Basel, Switzerland) eglimm@aicos.com
Ulrike Grömping (Ford Motor Company) ugroempi@ford.com

2. Links and synergy with ProENBIS

i) ProENBIS would value input from ENBIS members on DOE software and other resources currently in use.
ii) ProENBIS workshops on DOE are currently being prepared - this may be of interest to ENBIS members.
iii) The Case Study Protocol (see minutes of Oslo meeting) is to be used for ProENBIS DOE presentations and roadshows.

3. Web-based DOE working group activities

The last meeting of the DOE workshop identified the need for an area of the ENBIS website to be developed in order to house material on DOE.
The minutes of that meeting contain details of headings and categories for DOE material and, where possible, these headings and divisions will be used.
At this meeting, it was agreed that the website should contain information for ENBIS members to encourage the use of DOE in industry and to disseminate best practice.
During the working group meeting several ideas were put forward about the ENBIS DOE website.
Specifically:

i) Ricardo has offered to put a case study on the website.
ii) There should be links to DOE conferences (possibly via existing conference search engines).
iii) A mailing list (e.g. doe@enbis.org) should be created to allow easy contact between working group members, Ulrike Grömping (Ford Motor Company) has offered to look into this.
iv) All information submitted should be non-confidential.
v) Ron Bates (Warwick) offered to act as an intermediary for any member wishing to publish a DOE study on the website.
Members should compose their study in HTML as far as possible and send it to r.a.bates@warwick.ac.uk where it will be sent on to the ENBIS webmaster for inclusion in the DOE working group pages.
When enough studies have been submitted, they will be categorized, perhaps at the next working group meeting.
vi) Ron Bates also offered to set up a web form that members could fill in on-line to indicate what types of experiments members are performing.
The result will be a table recording the DOE activities of ENBIS members.